No-Budge Bold Lips: Sephora Cream Lip Stain

8 Jul

Lipstick and I have a complicated relationship. Because of years spent feeling self-conscious about my prominent pout I was always averse to making it MORE prominent by adding bold lipcolor. The most I’d go for was a tinted balm or maybe, if I was feeling like a real fancy-pants, I’d bust out Clinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey. But as I mentioned in my post on Nuxe Rêve de Miel Lip Balm, I am now officially declaring myself a lipstick lover. No longer am I afraid of a bold lip! In fact, a bold lip is just the look that’s been floating by boat lately. OBSERVE:

Sephora Cream Lip Stain in Strawberry Kissed

That’s right. I’m breaking out of my comfort zone and I’m LOVIN’ IT. I own a couple of red lipsticks, but it was more of a “I can’t call myself a beauty addict and not own a red lipstick” kind of thing. Plus I’m always ready to try new beauty products, and if they’re lip products then I’m double ready. But I never actually wore my red lipsticks. I’d try them on, decide it was just too much, and wipe them off. Then I saw Amelia from Liana Beauty talk about how much she loves her Sephora Cream Lip Stain. I thought, “Fine, ok, sure.” THEN I saw a bunch of other British beauty YouTubers (Mainly Anna and Lily, two of my faves) saying that Amelia turned them on to this amazing lip product and now THEY love it. Now that it had reached cult status, I knew I needed to try this stuff out for myself.

All the beauty bloggers mentioned above got the Cream Lip Stain in the shade Always Red. However, when I went to my local Sephora and swatched the colors I decided I was more of a Strawberry Kissed kind of gal. Always Red is a true, true red, while Strawberry Kissed is more of a pinky-red, which helped me avoid that Eastern European Prostitute look I’m so prone to when wearing red lipstick.

The formula goes on super smooth and liquid-y, but dries to a completely matte, not-gonna-budge stain. When I say this stuff has staying power, I mean it is not going anywhere. I wore this to a 4th of July party and only had to touch it up once in six hours, and that was after I ate a cheeseburger IN THE DARK. AND I only had to do minor touchups on the center of my lips. Later, in the elevator, a girl told me she loved my lip color, and asked what shade it was. She thought it was NARS, and when I said, “Nope, it’s the Sephora in-house brand.” Her eyes got wide and I was like, “I KNOW, RIGHT?” I whipped out my tube and showed her the amazing formula. I did not add that it lasted through me eating a sloppy meal on the most dimly lit rooftop in Los Angeles, but I did tell her she needed to book it to Sephora ASAP and get a piece of this lip stain action. (She assured me she would.)

Sephora Cream Lip Stain in Strawberry Kissed

The other great thing about this Little Tube of Awesome is the price point. $13! For comparison, the NARS lip pencil Elevator Girl assumed I was wearing is $25, and while it also has cult status, based on the reviews I’ve read it doesn’t necessarily have the incredible staying power of Sephora’s Cream Lip Stain. What I’m saying is I haven’t seen anyone say it lasted through a cheeseburger. Now that I think of it, maybe it was my love of cheeseburgers that kept me from rocking a bold lip all this time. BUT NO LONGER. Looks like I really can have it all.

Sephora Cream Lip Stain in Strawberry Kissed: $13

Leave a Reply

